Finding Yourself and the Person You Want To Be

{Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is-his good, pleasing and perfect will. -Romans 12:2}

fullsizerender-9

In a world consisting of 7 billion people, there are many discoveries and lessons to be learned. One of the biggest discovery there is is yourself. A lot of people struggle with figuring out who they really are and their purpose in this world. 

After getting out of a three year relationship, I struggled tremendously with figuring out who I was. Being with someone for three years, all I ever knew myself as was his girlfriend. There were situations I did not know how to react to because I would always ask him for advice and follow through with what HE would do. When I was placed in situations, I would react differently each time due to I did not know the right decision. Such as, do I stay humble and quiet or do I express my opinion?

After a year and a half, I have finally found myself.

I find myself on a bridge staring at the water, I find myself in my paintings, I find myself in the sunrise, I find myself in hot showers, I find myself at the bottom of a coffee cup, I find myself in my little sister, I find myself in the pictures I take, I find myself in a good book, I find myself in a song of worship at church, I find myself when someone smiles at me, I find myself on the pitching mound, I find myself in laughs that makes your stomach cramp, I find myself in a car ride with great friends, and I find myself in the lights at night. 

I know exactly who I am after so many months of searching and prayers to God, but most importantly, I know who I want to be. I think that is what makes people lose their way. The lost of distinguishment between who you are and who you want to be. We often make decisions based off who we want to be when we are lost, and not who we are at the moment. The problem with that is we are not ready to make those decisions. It is such a process to become the person who you truly want to be and is not something that should be jumped right into.

If you are struggling to find our purpose in this crazy world, look for your passion, look for what you are good at, look for what you love. Where there is passion, skill, and love there is purpose. Use your passion to change someone’s world, and you will find purpose. Talk to God, He is willing to show if you are willing  to see. 

Find yourself and purpose in your passions.

 

Leave a Reply

